'We are a close-knit, supportive community founded on Church of Ireland values of compassion, respect and personal responsibility. We welcome young people of every faith and nationality'
The King’s Hospital School was founded in 1669 in Dublin city. It was first located in Queen Street, Oxmantown and in 1783 moved to a new building at Blackhall Place, which is now home to the Law Society of Ireland.
Between 1957 and 1966, The King’s Hospital acquired two small schools – Morgan’s and Mercer’s – which contributed to a growth in pupil numbers and a need for additional space. In 1970, the school made a final move – relocating to an 80-acre site on the banks of the River Liffey at Brooklawn in Palmerstown, Co Dublin.
Known for much of its history as The Blue Coat School, it is one of the oldest secondary schools in Ireland. That it survived and thrived down through the centuries is testament to its tremendous resilience and leadership.
Our school crest with its three burning castles is based on the Dublin City crest and features the original name of the school, as it appeared in the founding charter.
More information about our history and our 350th Anniversary year 2019 can be found here.