You are here

Junior Cycle

According to the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA), the framework for Junior Cycle provides the basis for post-primary schools to plan quality, inclusive and relevant education programmes with improved learning experiences for all students, including those with special educational needs.

This framework is based on eight principles, as detailed in the council's illustration Junior Cycle Principles.

In first year of the King's Hospital School – or Form 1 – there are nine core subjects:

  • Irish
  • English
  • Maths
  • Geography
  • French or German or Spanish
  • Civic, Social and Political Education (CSPE)
  • History
  • Science
  • Religious Education

Form 1 students sample a variety of subjects up to Christmas from:

  • Technology
  • Art
  • Music
  • Business
  • Technical Graphics
  • Home Economics

They will choose two of these subjects to continue into Form 2. At the end of Form 3, they sit exams in 11 subjects for their Junior Certificate examination.

Check the NCCA website here to find out more about the Junior Cycle – its framework, syllabus, statements of learning and key skills.